Zips Athletics Announces 38th Annual Hall of Fame Class

Zips Athletics Announces 38th Annual Hall of Fame Class

Follow Zips Athletics on Twitter (@FollowTheRoo) and Facebook  |  Z-Fund

View Varsity "A" Association Sports Hall of Fame Roster

– The University of Akron Department of Athletics announced on Tuesday its 38th Annual Varsity “A” Association Sports Hall of Fame inductees.

The class of 2012 – Michael Andy (football), LeShaunte Edwards (track), Russ Klaus (football), Ken MacDonald (administration), Julie Bias Pratt (softball), Ken Pryor (soccer) and Michelle Rizzo Wardle (cross country, track) – will be honored at a banquet on Friday, Feb. 15 at the University's Martin Center Ballroom (105 Fir Hill Street).

Also being recognized that night will be Kenneth “Red” Cochrane Meritorious Service Award recipient Ted Curtis, and Mike Krino Varsity “A” Achievement Award recipient Karl Schwarzinger.

The nine honorees will take the total in the UA Varsity “A” Sports Hall of Fame to 362 which includes 302 student-athletes, coaches and administrators, 35 Kenneth “Red” Cochrane Meritorious Service Award recipients and 25 Mike Krino Varsity “A” Achievement awardees.

Also during the Feb. 15 banquet, and as part of its celebration of the 40th anniversary of Title IX, Zips Athletics and the Varsity “A” Association will award a varsity letter to females who competed in a club sport at UA prior to the existence of a varsity women’s athletics program in 1972.

The festivities on Feb. 15 will begin at 6 p.m. ET with refreshments and socializing, followed by dinner at 7 p.m. and the induction program at 8 p.m. The cost of the banquet is $40 per person and $20 for children age 13 and under. Tables of eight can be reserved for $300.

The 2012 Class will also be presented at halftime of the Akron versus Bowling Green men's basketball game on Saturday, Feb. 16 at James A. Rhodes Arena. A time for that game will be announced at a later date pending a potential telecast.

For further information about the Varsity “A” Hall of Fame, please contact Alexa Doutt, Director of the Z-Fund, at (330) 972-2695 or via E-mail.