38th Annual Hall of Fame Induction Banquet Moved to Quaker Square Inn

38th Annual Hall of Fame Induction Banquet Moved to Quaker Square Inn

Follow Zips Athletics on Twitter (@FollowTheRoo) and Facebook  |  Z-Fund

View Varsity "A" Association Sports Hall of Fame Roster
Zips Athletics Honors Past and Present at Title IX Celebration

– Due to record-setting ticket sales and interest, The University of Akron Department of Athletics 38th-Annual Sports Hall of Fame induction banquet on Friday, Feb. 15 has been moved to the
University's Quaker Square Inn (135 South Broadway) in downtown Akron.

The event was originally scheduled to be held at the University's Martin Center ballroom, but with nearly 250 tickets already sold UA officials made a venue change earlier this week.

The festivities begin at 6 p.m. with refreshments and socializing, followed by dinner at 7 p.m. and the induction program at 8 p.m. The cost of the banquet is $40 per person and $20 for children age 13 and under. Tables of eight can be reserved for $300. Please contact Alexa Doutt, Director of the Z-Fund, at (330) 972-2695 or via E-mail to make a reservation.

The class of 2012 – Michael Andy (football), LeShaunte Edwards (track), Russ Klaus (football), Ken MacDonald (administration), Julie Bias Pratt (softball), Ken Pryor (soccer) and Michelle Rizzo Wardle (cross country, track) – will be honored.

Also being recognized that night will be Kenneth "Red" Cochrane Meritorious Service Award recipient Ted Curtis, and Mike Krino Varsity "A" Achievement Award recipient Karl Schwarzinger.

The nine honorees will take the total in the UA Varsity "A" Sports Hall of Fame to 362 which includes 302 student-athletes, coaches and administrators, 35 Kenneth "Red" Cochrane Meritorious Service Award recipients and 25 Mike Krino Varsity "A" Achievement awardees.

Also during the banquet, and as part of its celebration of the 40th anniversary of Title IX, Zips Athletics and the Varsity "A" Association will award a varsity letter to females who competed in a club sport at UA prior to the existence of a varsity women’s athletics program in 1972.

The list of those expected to return to receive their letter is growing, but includes Anna Arvay (basketball) Karen Frey (archery, basketball, pool),
Karen Herbert (basketball, volleyball), JoAnn Pifer (basketball, track, volleyball), Lynda Smole (basketball), Marilyn Stern (Pallage) (basketball, volleyball), Mary Anne Svetlik (badminton, basketball, field hockey, swimming, volleyball), Sally Tenney (basketball, volleyball) and Karen Trifinoff (track).

The 2012 Hall of Fame Class will also be presented at halftime of the Akron versus Bowling Green men's basketball game on Saturday, Feb. 16 at 7:30 p.m. at James A. Rhodes Arena.