Jason Taylor Named to 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class

Jason Taylor Named to 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class

AKRON, Ohio— Former University of Akron defensive end Jason Taylor (1993-96) is one of seven inductees named to the 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class.

Taylor joins kicker Morten Andersen, running back Terrell Davis, safety Kenny Easley, running back LaDainian Tomlinson, quarterback Kurt Warner, and Cowboys' owner Jerry Jones as inductees.

The Class of 2017 will be formally enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, Aug. 5. The Enshrinement Ceremony is held at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton as a part of the spectacular Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week Powered by Johnson Controls that celebrates the newest enshrinees of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Taylor was one of the NFL's top pass-rushers for 15 seasons. Drafted in the third round by the Miami Dolphins in 1997, he played 13 seasons with Miami, and one season each with the Washington Redskins, and the New York Jets. A six-time Pro Bowl selection and four time 1st or 2nd team All-Pro, Taylor was named the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2006, and also named the Walter Peyton Man of the Year in 2007.

Taylor holds the sixth all-time career sacks record with 139.5 sacks, is the all-time leader in fumble return touchdowns with six, while his 246 fumble return yards are the second highest total in NFL history. With nine career defensive touchdowns scored, he is also the all-time leader in that category for defensive linemen.

As a Zip, Taylor earned first-team All-MAC honors as a senior in 1996. He was named the team's defensive MVP as a junior. In 1996, he was awarded the team's Harry "Doc" Smith Award and the Akron Touchdown Club trophy as the outstanding lineman. Taylor is Akron's all-time career leader in sacks (21) and stands second on the Zips' charts for career tackles for loss (41.0) and sacks in a season (10). Taylor was inducted into Akron's Ring of Honor in 2004.