Reinaldo Brenes Named To Academic All-America Team

Reinaldo Brenes Named To Academic All-America Team

Follow Akron Men's Soccer on Twitter, Facebook and InstagramBuy Tickets

AKRON, Ohio – For the second consecutive season, Reinaldo Brenes, a senior striker from The University of Akron men's soccer team, has been named to the Capital One Academic All-America team by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), the organization announced Tuesday.

Brenes, who carries a 3.74 cumulative GPA as an International Business major, picked up Third Team honors for 2013 after being named to the First Team a year ago.

The Zips men's soccer program has now garnered 20 Academic All-America honors since 1998, including 12 in the past four seasons alone. Furthermore, UA has landed at least one player on the prestigious squad every year since 2009.

Following a breakout season in 2012, Brenes continued to be one of college soccer's most dangerous finishers with team-leading totals of eight goals and five game-winners in 18 matches this fall. After missing four consecutive games with a hamstring injury in October, the team captain made an immediate impact upon his return, scoring four goals in his first five contests back.

Highlighting that hot streak, Brenes scored a pair of goals – including the game winner – to lead the Zips (17-4-1) to a 3-2 victory over the defending NCAA Champion Indiana Hoosiers in the first round of the NCAA Tournament at FirstEnergy Stadium – Cub Cadet Field last Thursday night.

As one of the nation's best players, Brenes, an All-Mid-American Conference First Team honoree, was named to watch lists for the Hermann Trophy as well as the Senior CLASS Award this fall.

To be eligible for Academic All-America consideration, a student-athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative G.P.A. of 3.30 on a scale of 4.00 and have reached sophomore athletic and academic standings at his/her current institution.

UA All-Time Men's Soccer Academic All-Americans
1998 Justin Millard, Second Team
1999 Justin Millard, First Team
2000 Orjan Baneso, First Team
2001 Orjan Bjaneso, Second Team
2001 Kyle Milligan, Third Team
2007 Elliot Bradbrook, Second Team
2009 Kofi Sarkodie, First Team
2009 Ben Zemanski, Third Team
2010 Anthony Ampaipitakwong, Third Team
2010 Chad Barson, Second Team
2010 David Meves, Second Team
2010 Kofi Sarkodie*, First Team
2011 Chad Barson, First Team
2011 Scott Caldwell, Second Team
2011 David Meves, Third Team
2012 Chad Barson, First Team
2012 Reinaldo Brenes, First Team
2012 Scott Caldwell, First Team
2012 David Meves, Second Team
2013 Reinaldo Brenes, Third Team
* Academic All-America of the Year