Zips Split MAC Doubleheader with Buffalo

Zips Split MAC Doubleheader with Buffalo

Follow Akron Softball on Facebook and Twitter



AKRON, Ohio- In its Mid-American Conference home opener, the Akron softball team split twinbill with Buffalo on a windy Tuesday afternoon at Lee R. Jackson Field.

The Bulls took the first game, 3-0. Akron captured the nightcap with a 4-1 victory.

The Zips improve to 15-19 overall and 4-4 in MAC play. The Bulls fell 7-29 overall and 2-6 in MAC play.

In the first game, Buffalo was able to get on the board first in the top of the third inning from an error on the shortstop, which scored the runner on third.

In the top of the fourth innings, the Bulls added a security run from an RBI double that gave them a 2-1 lead. The Zips had a chance to score a run in the bottom of the fourth with a runner on third, but weren't able to score.

The Bulls added an additional run in the top of the seventh inning, completing their 3-0 victory.

Freshman lefty Lexie Handley (Mogadore, Ohio) took the loss for the Zips. She pitched 3.1 innings, fanning three and walking three batters. Junior Kooper Vertz (Dilsboro, Ind.) came in relief in the fourth, throwing 3.2 innings. She struck out four and walked one.

In game two, the Zips scored two early runs in the bottom of the first inning from a two-run homer from senior OF Savannah Fruin (Delray Beach, Fla.). It marked Fruin's 30th career home run. She moved into the second place spot on Akron's all-time career list.

The Bulls answered back in the top of the fourth inning and scored a lone run on a throwing error by the catcher.

Akron added two runs in the bottom of the fifth inning from a two-RBI double from senior catcher Alyssa Nicholas (Cortland, Ohio) that completed the Zips 4-1 victory.

Handley captured the win (12-11 overall) and pitched a complete game. She struck out 11 batters, one shy of her career high, and walked four.

Akron continues its five-game homestead with a three-game series with Central Michigan, beginning on Friday, April 7 at 3 p.m. at Lee R. Jackson Field.