Women's Tennis Lands Three on All-MAC Team

Women's Tennis Lands Three on All-MAC Team

Follow Akron Tennis on Twitter and Facebook

2013 Women Tennis All-MAC Teams and Specialty Awards
2013 MAC Tournament Central (MAC-Sports.com)
View 2013 MAC Tournament Bracket in PDF format

MUNCIE, Ind. – Three University of Akron women's tennis student-athletes were named to the All-Mid-American Conference Team on Thursday, the league office announced. Seniors Angelina Jogasuria and Prang Pantusart earned first-team recognition, while sophomore Olga Shkundina was voted to the second team.

Jogasuria, who was selected first-team all-league and MAC Freshman of the Year in 2010, and Pantusart, who was on the all-conference second team each of the last two years, make up the Zips' nationally-ranked doubles team. That pair is ranked 41st on the latest Intercollegiate Tennis Association poll and owns an 18-0 dual-match record this season (8-0 MAC).

Pantusart is 16-10 in dual-match singles play (7-1 MAC), while Jogasuria maintains a dual-match singles mark of 17-8 (5-3 MAC) in 2013.

Shkundina, a 2012 First-Team All-MAC honoree and freshman of the year pick, is 17-7 against dual-match singles opponents this year (6-2 MAC). She is 13-10 in dual-match doubles play (4-4 MAC).

Joining Jogasuria and Pantusart on the All-MAC First Team is Nimisha Mohan (Miami), Klara Supejova (Eastern Michigan), Courtney Wild (Ball State) and Nelle Youel (Northern Illinois). Along with Shkundina, All-MAC Second Team honors went to Nikki Chiricosta (Bowling Green), Courtney Earnest (Ball State), Tanvi Shah (Buffalo), Nina Sjashvili (Western Michigan) and Alix Thurman (Miami).

Bowling Green's Penny Dean was named league coach of the year, while Eastern Michigan's Klara Supejova was selected as player of the year and freshman of the year. Toledo's Emily Mazzola was given the Leann Grimes Davidge Sportsmanship Award.

The league's nine head coaches voted on the all-conference team and specialty awards.

The Zips women's tennis program is the two-time defending MAC tournament champion. Third-seeded UA (17-9, 5-3 MAC) begins its title defense when it faces sixth-seeded Buffalo (13-4, 4-4 MAC) at 2 p.m. ET in Friday's quarterfinal round at Cardinal Creek Tennis Center in Muncie, Ind.

2013 All-Mid-American Conference Women's Tennis Awards:

First Team
Klara Supejova, Eastern Michigan
Courtney Wild, Ball State
Angelina Jogasuria, Akron
Nelle Youel, Northern Illinois
Nimisha Mohan, Miami
Prang Pantusart, Akron
Second Team
Nikki Chiricosta, Bowling Green
Tanvi Shah, Buffalo
Courtney Earnest, Ball State
Nini Sujashvili, Western Michigan
Alix Thurman, Miami
Olga Shkundina, Akron
Coach of the Year: Penny Dean, Bowling Green
Freshman of the Year: Klara Supejova, Eastern Michigan
Player of the Year: Klara Supejova, Eastern Michigan
Leann Grimes Davidge Sportsmanship Award: Emily Mazzola, Toledo