Cross Country's Maria Moore Places Second in Tommy Evans Invitational

Cross Country's Maria Moore Places Second in Tommy Evans Invitational

Follow Akron Cross Country on Twitter (@ZipsTFCC) and Facebook

Men's Results (PDF) | Women's Results (PDF) 

Men's Team Results (PDF) | Women's Team Results (PDF)


AKRON, Ohio –
The University of Akron cross country team opened the 2013 season in the 45th annual Tommy Evans Invitational on Thursday evening, which included four top-10 finishes by the men and a second place time for the women.

Overall, the Akron women bested two out of the four opponents participating in the Invitational for the 5K race, as UA defeated Marshall, 18-43, and Youngstown State, 28-29. Maria Moore led the way for the Zips, placing second at a time of 18:35.

Michaela Foisy was second on the squad with a 12th place finish at a time of 19:02. Other Zips women to finish in the top-25 were Irene Frangos (18th; 19:21), Jillian Roth (20th; 19:26), Morgan Willis (21st; 19:28), Marisa Papp (22nd; 19:31), and Sarah Kupniewski (25th; 19:42).

Malone's Tina Oprean won the women's race with a time of 18:32.

On the men's side in the four mile race, Akron defeated three of the four competing teams: Kent State (24-32), Marshall (16-42) and YSU (21-35). The top-10 finishers for the men were Clayton Murphy (3rd; 20:28), Daniel Zupan (6th; 20:33), Kyle Cochrun (7th; 20:33), and Trevor Norris (8th; 20:40).

Other Zips men competing in the Invitational were Aaron Howkins (21st: 21:12), Martin Zegarelli (27th; 21:35), Zach Alexander (32nd; 22:16), and Marcus Mazzaferri (35th; 23:08).

Youngstown State's Eric Rupe finished with the best time in the men's race at a time of 20:23.

The UA cross country team will be back in action on Sept. 14 at the Blue Grass Invitational hosted by the University of Kentucky in Lexington, Ky.